The Power of Meditation

Meditation has been around for centuries, yet if you were to ask an average person about it they would probably know very little if anything at all. Almost every religion that ever existed used some form of meditation for it’s purposes. However it is still one of those concepts no one truly knows how to explain entirely or correctly and there is nothing wrong with that. In the case of meditation, the good old: “You won’t know unless you try.”, really holds truth. 

What is meditation in the first place?

In case you are one of those people who are familiar with the concept, by all means skip this paragraph. However, for the purposes of this blog post I feel like I should give some insight into what meditation is for those poor, unfortunate souls *cue the Disney music* who have not yet had the pleasure to experience all the benefits of meditation.
There are a number of different definitions but perhaps the simplest way to put it is this:

Meditation is a practice which is used in order to achieve a state of complete peace and higher awareness.

Sounds wacky, right? At least it did to me when I first got the urge to find out more about what it was. I was not sure how sitting and doing “nothing” can help me with anything in life, but of course I was quick to judge something without trying it or fully understanding it first – a very common mistake.
The reason why I think no one is able to clearly define meditation is because it is essentially different for everyone. A state of complete peace and higher awareness is something that can only be felt, not explained with words and it can come in many forms. However, one thing everyone can agree on is that once you reach that state it is the best feeling in the world. 
Einstein said I think 99 times and find nothing. I stop thinking, swim in the silence and the truth comes to me.That is the essence of meditation. Stop thinking and watch the answers appear in your mind. It is a connection to your higher self, and you can call it whatever you want: God, subconscious mind, the Universe (which is what I like to use) but the connection is there no matter what you choose to call the thing you feel connected to. No search engine, no guru, no spiritual teacher and no book can give you as many true answers as silence can.
Apart from the spiritual benefits, meditation also significantly reduces stress and has positive effects on both physical and mental health. Letting go of the past and future only to be fully present and conscious of the now is a very liberating act, but funny enough what you gain from that liberation is control. What I mean by that is, by only acknowledging the present moment you recognize that you are in full control over your state of being, you put yourself in that state and therefore no external force can make you change it. To me that is one of the most fascinating things about meditation.

How to meditate?

 

You really shouldn’t be asking that question. What you should be doing is understanding the concept as much as you can until you feel secure enough to try it and then let the rest happen by itself. Just go with the flow. Cool thing about meditation is that you can do it anywhere, anytime, in any clothing, position or place – it’s entirely up to you. You want to be able to get yourself into that state, how you do it is not important. You can sit, lay, stand, run, breathe not breathe (not advisable), or do a handstand. Whatever rocks your boat.

My experience and how I started

I only recently hopped on the meditation train and even though I am late to the party I am extremely glad that I am here. Like the average person I knew next to nothing about the meditation or why it’s good for you. Before I started my journey of self-discovery (I guess you could call it), I hadn’t given much thought to spirituality. In fact, I thought it was rather silly and perhaps good for certain types of people but definitely not for me. Growing up, my family was not very religious but to be fair my curiosity was not very ignited by this subject either. Only when I started experimenting with positive thinking and the law of attraction did I realize that there might be more to meditation and spirituality than I thought.
About a year ago, I was doing some research on the internet about ways to reduce stress because I was working a very stressful job at the time and of course meditation came up. Skeptical at first, I decided to dig a little deeper and see what all the fuss is about. After acquiring the basic knowledge, the idea seemed to make sense to me so I decided to try it. However my approach was totally wrong. Learning about meditation and all the different ways you could do it made me even more stressed out because I was afraid that I am not doing it like it’s supposed to be done. What I didn’t know at the time is that there is no wrong or right way to do it, but nevertheless I gave up after the first few tries.

A few months later, I was watching something on Youtube when in the suggested videos I noticed a thumbnail of an average looking guy paused in the middle of his sentence with the title “How to Actually Make Money”. I had a job but the idea of making money on the side seemed inviting to me so I decided to click on the video expecting to hear something about affiliate marketing or stocks. However, what Kyle talked about in his video was the last thing I expected to hear. I will not go into much detail and I will link the video down below if you want to watch it (which I highly recommend), but I was so intrigued that I decided to watch the rest of his videos as well.
Everything he was saying was resonating with me so well, that when I found his 100 Day Self-Connection Experiment I watched it in one sitting. He explained meditation in an entirely different and more reasonable way which got me thinking into trying it again.

What I’ve learned

 

Kyle explained meditation in such a simple way that I knew I had to be crazy not to try it again. He basically said all you need to do to start is just to pick a quiet place, close your eyes and let your mind go wild. You are supposed to watch your thoughts like a movie playing on the big screen and not do anything to disturb them. You can think about whatever you want and go wherever your thoughts take you. However, that chaos of thoughts eventually subsides and without even knowing it you enter that state – a state of peace and of elevated consciousness. The best word I can find to describe the feeling is floating.
At first you feel a little weird, you’re doing something new and unknown, but after a couple of times it almost becomes the most natural thing in the world. You almost become addicted to that feeling, now I can’t imagine waking up in the morning and not meditating for at least 15 minutes. There is something so soothing about the silence and the clarity you receive from it, that it is hardly possible to ever throw that feeling away. 

All in all…

Try it. Please. Give it a week. One week, fifteen minutes every day. And then decide if it’s for you or not. I guarantee you will feel different. Some of my most important life decisions were made while meditating and now I’ve come to believe that those fifteen to thirty minutes are the most valuable minutes of my day because that’s when all the important stuff happens. Watch some of Kyle’s videos, sit in a comfortable position, close your eyes and just watch everything unfold.

Kyle’s Video

Leave a Reply

