Purpose.

If you have the courage to start, you have the courage to succeed. – Mel Robbins

I bet the first thought that comes to your mind as you read the word purpose is the Justin Bieber album. Although it’s a good album, it is not the topic of this post. Sorry. (Pun intended)
Anyway, today I decided to write about whatever the hell I want. The past few weeks have been really busy and the excuse I was making for not taking the time to write on my blog was: “I don’t have the time.” The difference between not taking the time and not having the time is enormous. Because we always have time, we just choose to let it slip away. Why do we do that though? What makes us think that we are so privileged to waste this time that we were given by doing the things that we don’t want to do and not doing the things that we truly want to do?
The last thing I wanted to do was work, yet I chose to dedicate all of my time to it and completely neglect the thing that would bring me joy which is to write. All the while I was doing that I was thinking:Why? Why are my priorities aligned in this order? Is it supposed to be like this, work first happiness last? Is that truly what life is about? I highly doubt it. In fact I choose not to believe it because that is not the life I want to live. We often get so caught up in what is going on around us, that we forget about our purpose.
Our purpose is not to worry about how are we going to pay our bills, or how are we going to make more money, or what are we going to do with our lives, or who are we going to meet and when and why and all of the other unnecessary things that we obsess about. 

We are alive. Our purpose is to live.

I recently watched a TED Talk by Mel Robbins on Youtube. It is called How to stop screwing yourself over. (It’s really good, you should check it out) The things she talks about are really useful, but are more practical in nature and don’t really correlate to the point I am trying too reach with this post, however one part of the video really stuck with me and made me think. At one point she asked the public if they knew what is the probability of us being alive in this moment, right now? I bet you have no clue, same as the public. Well, she continued and said something along the lines that the scientists have done the math and taken into consideration all the wars and disasters and what not only to come to the next piece of information. 

The probability of you (Yes, YOU) being alive right here in this moment is 1:400,000,000,000.

Just let that sink in for a moment. In case you don’t know how to read a four followed by twelve zeros, the probability of you being alive is one in four hundred trillion. Four. Hundred. Trillion.
It makes you think about whether you really want to be wasting your life spending more time doing the things you don’t like versus the things you are passionate about. It’s really not a hard choice to make, once you know how exceptionally extraordinary you are and how small the amount of time you posses is.

Thinking about this made me realize that we are all miracles. We’ve all been miracles ever since we started out and by started out I mean as we were only tiny little fertilized cells in our moms’ bellies. It would be a shame to waste a miracle and that’s our job, that’s our purpose. Our purpose is to live up to our miracle selves and start living accordingly and in sync to what and who we are. Because as the quote from above says, we only need the courage to start and the courage to succeed will follow. Honor the miracle, remind yourself of this everyday and just be ecstatic that you have the privilege to be alive

Leave a Reply

