Let’s talk positive

Just the fact that your sun comes up every morning is worth so much more than all the bad news. Just the fact that the water stays on your planet and the seeds continue to grow. –Esther Hicks

What is positive thinking?

Now, I know you must be thinking: Well thanks, but I’m pretty sure I can google it. If you are not thinking that- great, but if you are I would recommend you keep reading because this blog post is not going to be what you might expect.

By Merriam-Webster’s definition, positivity is the quality or state of being positive. Now, if you went to Google and tried to research positive thinking, you would find plenty of resources from which you could acquire the necessary knowledge to start implementing positivity into your life. That’s what I did because hey, you gotta start somewhere right? WRONG.
What most of those resources won’t tell you is that you are almost certainly setting yourself up for failure if you believe that changing your complete mindset is as easy as waking up every morning and saying I love you to yourself (no hard feelings towards affirmations though). It can be very discouraging and frustrating when you have a false perception of how positive thinking works from the get-go. No, it’s not enough to just think happy thoughts all the time and no matter how much I wanted and tried to believe that it is, reality was always there to put me back in check. Conclusion: over-simplification is as dangerous and debilitating as over-complication.
I am not an expert, but given what I know now I would define positive thinking as ones ability to successfully and frequently eradicate negative thoughts until no negative thought can even begin to take shape in ones mind. Sounds fun huh?
You might not like it, but it all comes down to how disciplined you are in controlling which thoughts to entertain. Decision making, persistence and even planning are some of the key factors which can determine if you are on the path to a positive mindset or not. So how do you get there?
You’re going to have to read one of my next blog posts to find that one out.

If positive thinking is so hard for you, then why do you do it?

I have been so immersed in this subject for the past few years that now I don’t know anything else. It became a habit, however I do sometimes slip back into my old ways. If you want to know what my old ways were you will also have to read one of my next posts. One thing I do know for sure is that positive thinking changed my life in ways I could not even imagine and if I had to go through the occasional frustration and hardships again I most certainly would. Why? Because I strongly believe in the good old anything worth having does not come easy and a positive mindset is one of the most valuable things a person can have.


In my next blog posts regarding positivity I will share with you my journey to a more positive mindset, advice on how you can start incorporating more positivity into your life, my thoughts on why some people are more positive than others, how to use positive thinking to improve the lives of the people around you and much, much more. Also, I am going to include some of my favorite resources on positive thinking as well as some other useful stuff.
Stay ambitious!

Leave a Reply

